Kathmandu Post


Date | Wednesday, Aug 5, 2015     Login | Register

Thapa elected NNTA chairman

KATHMANDU, JUN 16 - The 11th national general convention of the Nepal National Teachers’ Association concluded electing a 56-member central working committee under the chairpersonship of Baburam Thapa.

Gyawalser Rai has been elected the senior vice chairperson while Kamala Tuladhar, Bhim Bahadur Basnet, Krishna Prasad Ghimire, Deepak Poudel, Khumlal Sharma, Tilak Kunwar, Hansa Bahadur Shahi and Amarkant Poudel were elected as vice chairpersons.

Laxman Sharma was elected to the post general secretary, whereas Daya Poudel and Narayan Prasad Poudel and Rekha Kumari Jha have been elected to the post of secretary. Likewise, Bishnu Prasad Bhandari is the new treasurer and Kamala Thapa is the co-treasurer for the association. The convention was held from June 11 to 13 in Kathmandu.

Meanwhile, addressing a press meet on Sunday, Chairperson Thapa warned of agitating against the government’s plan to ban teachers from getting involved in politics.

Stating that the International Labour Organisation (ILO) has clearly recognised the teachers’ right to unite, he argued that the government as a signatory of the ILO cannot go against the provision. He also claimed that it is not teachers but the conventional education system that has been creating obstructions in achieving expected goals in the education sector.

Posted on: 2013-06-17 08:35

Today's Paper Epaper - The Kathmandu Post 2015-08-04
The Kathmandu Post in Print

Select date from past 7 days

e.g. 2001-04-01 (yyyy-mm-dd)

By Abin

Only loads of cash, but no DV, PR.... Looks like an honest man!


kantipur tv
Our Publication