News Flash

Regmi assumes office as head of Interim Govt

  • 22 parties protest outside Shital Niwas

KATHMANDU, MAR 14 - Newly appointed Chairman of the Interim Election Government Khil Raj Regmi assumed his office at the Prime Minister's Office in Singhadurbar on Thursday.

Assuming the office, Regmi said peace, security and election were his major responsibilities and expressed his belief that Constituent Assembly elections will be held by June 21, 2013 with the support form the political parties. He also urged the agitating parties to gear up for the election by forging consensus.

Regmi reached Singhadurbar with his Cabinet members Madhav Prasad Ghimire and Hari Prasad Neupane.

It will be responsible for holding the elections and overseeing the day-to-day administration. However, it will have no mandate to take a decision that will have a long-term impact.

Chief Justice Khil Raj Regmi was sworn in as the Chairman of the Interim Election Government at a special function organised at the President's office in Sheetal Niwas this morning.

President Ram Baran Yadav administered the oath of office and secrecy to Regmi amid a special function this morning.

Meanwhile, Regmi sworn in former Chief Secretary Madhav Prasad Ghimire as the Foreign Minister and Home Minister at the same ceremony. Likewise, Hari Prasad Neupane was also sworn in as the Minister for Law and Justice and Minister for Labour and Transport Management.

Chief Justice Remi's appointment as the head of the interim government is equivalent to the prime minister's post.  He has become the 36th prime minister of Nepal.

Vice President Paramanda Jha, UCPN (Maoist) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala, caretaker Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai, heads of diplomatic missions, security agencies and senior government officials, were present at the programme.

Leaders of the major political parties signed a 11-point agreement on Wednesday night to form an election government headed by Chief Justice Regmi. The non-partisan government has been entrusted with the responsibility of conducting new CA elections by June 21, 2013.

As per the deal signed, CJ-led government would get a second term till December 15, 2013 if it fails to hold the elections due to 'any technical or untoward situation'. It stated that Regmi would be relieved of the top executive post once a new prime minister is picked, though it is silent on whether the second term would also be the CJ's last one.

Meanwhile, 22 political parties, including the Mohan Baidhya -led CPN-Maoist, protested outside the Shital Niwas on Thursday morning against the formation of election government under the sitting chief justice.

CPN-Maoist Vice Chairman CP Gajurel and General Secretary Ram Bahadur Thapa led the protest.

The protestors also clashed with police while chanting slogans against the chief justice-led government. Some of the demonstrators were detained by police during the scuffle.

On Wednesday night, top leaders of the UCPN (Maoist), Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and the Samyukta Loktantrik Madhesi Morcha (SLMM) signed the 11-point pact and forwarded a 24-point proposal on clearing constitutional hurdles for forming a new election government to the President.

The interim Cabinet will have 11 members consisting of retired senior bureaucrats.




Posted on: 2013-03-14 09:15